MD properties logo color 01Mayson Dixon Consulting Logo

Paul & Lucia Mackell 

Joe & Maria Eldrige-Otero

Kenny & Makeda Green



Jeffery Heyward, McKinley Technology High School 2020

My name is Jeffrey Heyward. I graduated from McKinley Technology High School. In the fall, I will attend Temple University seeking a major in Information Science & Technology. After graduating, I am planning on becoming a Network Engineer and continuing my interest in photography as well.

Tania Mendez-Perez, Columbia Heights Education Campus 2020

My name is Tania Mendez-Perez. I have graduated from the Columbia Heights Education Campus. I will be attending McDaniel College in the Fall studying a major in Computer Engineering. After college, I want to work for an engineering company to hone my skills and experience which I would later use to start my own business.  

Arnedja Evans, Duke Ellington School of the Arts 2020

My name is Arnedja Evans. I graduated from the Duke Ellington School of the Arts as a part of the Museum Studies Department. I will be attending Trinity Washington University in the fall where I will major in Media in Communications, and continue to expand my skills in communications, photography, and curation. After college, I plan on finding an internship in digital media.

Destiny Lloyd, Ballou High School 2020


Diaya Fuller, Duke Ellington School of the Arts 2019                                         Aliyah Ford, Dunbar High School 2018

Erica Morse, Benjamin Banneker High School 2019                                         Betelhem Assefa, McKinley Technology High School 2018

Heaven Frazier, School Without Walls 2019                                                      Catherine Gyebi, Phelps ACE High School 2018

Iliana Gonzales, Benjamin Banneker High School 2019                                   Cheraine Pugh, Ballou High School 2018 

Jayme Mims, Eastern High School 2019                                                             Damon Mance, McKinley Technology High School 2018

Jewel McDonald, Benjamin Banneker High School 2019                                  D’onte Batts, McKinley Technology High School 2018

Jordan Allen, School Without Walls 2019                                                           Joshua Koonce, Dunbar High School 2018

Joshua Curtis, McKinley Technology High School 2019                                     Makalya Cromes, McKinley Technology High School 2018

Juna Park-Rogers, Woodrow Wilson High School 2019                                     Mikaila Jones, Benjamin Banneker High School 2018

Mable Malhorta, Woodrow Wilson High School 2019                                      Paige Morse, Woodrow Wilson High School 2018

Nohemy Salomon, Columbia Heights Education Campus 2019                     Raheem Roberts, Benjamin Banneker High School 2018

Quincy Page, Benjamin Banneker High School 2019                                       Ray Vincent De Jesus, Benjamin Banneker High School 2018

Sidnee Salter, Benjamin Banneker High School 2019                                      Samantha O’Sullivan, School Without Walls High School 2018

Terryen Haywood, H.D. Woodson High School 2019                                       Trinity Anthony, Benjamin Banneker High School 2018

Learn more about the scholarship recipients for earlier years by contacting our team. 


Continue to Support The Richard Tucker Memorial Scholarship Award 

We believe students should feel confident and supported in their dream of pursuing higher education, and we aim to continue supporting students through our efforts. Make a donation today on our GoFundMe Charity Campaign to help us begin fundraising for 2021 graduating  Washington, D.C. seniors. Each year we aim to award 14 D.C. students with this one-time $2,500.00 Scholarship towards their accepted College/University. Every contribution helps us towards this goal.

Your donation to the Benjamin Banneker Development Corporation is Tax-Deductible. We do require contact information with your donation, but no information will be shared or sold for any reason. Our tax ID number is 52-0260476. Should you have any concerns or would like to donate to us in other ways, please contact BBDC. Donations must be received by BBDC on, or before, December 31st to be deductible for the current tax year.


The Richard Tucker Memorial Scholarship Fund (RTMSF) was the initiative of Richard Tucker, our late President, to carry out the company's mission to help improve the community through philanthropic work. Since 2011, BBDC has dedicated our self to providing a first-year scholarship award to financially challenged, college-bound DCPS high school seniors. Our scholarship program aims to alleviate the long-term financial stress that higher education has on students and/or their families. Through the success of this program, we want future generations and future graduating students to feel supported in their pursuit of higher education by not feeling inhibited. Additionally, we truly believe that our communities benefit when we support and encourage scholars to face the challenges of post-secondary education and emerge independently with a renewed sense of self-esteem and educated accomplishments. 

The Richard Tucker Memorial Scholarship Fund awards scholarships to financially challenged, college-bound D.C. Public high school seniors based on a demonstrated academic achievement of at least 2.3 Grade point average (GPA), and an expressed interest in pursuing higher education. Each scholarship awarded is in the amount of $2,500 mailed directly to the college/university using the student's name and student ID Number for direct deposit into the student’s college/university. The scholarship application goes live for students in February and students have until May 1st to submit all the application information into BBDC after which the Scholarship Committee will review and choose the Scholarship Recipients. 

We aim to continue growing this initiative to positively impact the lives of college-bound students in our community for years to come. The Richard Tucker Memorial Scholarship Fund is a unique opportunity for students and community to come together and prove that united we are invested and dedicated to the betterment of our future.  

Please contact us at 202-997-9533 or email for more information.